Chicken livers

Standard

Awhile back, I posted a chicken liver recipe that included balsamic vinegar.  While yummy, I’ve decided that I actually prefer my chicken livers served very simply because I really like the flavor of the livers themselves.  (Aaaaand, I just lost 3/4 of my readers, didn’t I?)  Plus, the rest of my family only tolerates them, so I’ve taken to making them just for myself at lunch, and I want the quickest method possible. This is my super simple recipe:

Chicken Livers
(net carbs: 1.5g)

1/2 lb chicken livers (about 1/2 a container, or 4-6 livers)
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp peanut oil
garlic powder

Place chicken livers on a plate lined with paper towels to dry.  Melt butter and oil in a small pan over medium heat.  Blot top of livers with more paper towel, then sprinkle liberally with garlic powder.  Place in pan, garlic side down, and sprinkle tops with more garlic.  Cover pan and cook for 5 min.  Flip livers (I find this easiest to do with two forks, one underneath and one on top) and cook for 4 more minutes.

My method cooks the livers quite well done, but this is how I prefer them.  Most recipes seem to suggest you don’t want them overcooked or they’ll be dry, but I like them this way because the texture is more like other meats.  Also, the outside gets brown and slightly crunchy, which reminds me of how my mom used to make them by coating them in flour first.  However, if you prefer yours less done, you can probably do about 3 minutes per side.

Leave a Reply

