Ahhhh, that natural high

Standard

The best part of my daily walks?  It’s that moment I first get inside and sit down.  That could sound bad, as if I hate walking and can’t wait to stop.  But that’s not what I mean at all.  What I love is being able to stop moving, close my eyes, and just be in the moment.  I sit there and just focus on the sensation of the blood pumping through my veins and the cool tingle in my skin.  I notice how my breathing is transitioning from a fast pace to a more normal one.  And then I think about how amazing I feel.

On a related note, what I also love is how alert I am after my walk.  I am not a morning person.  On a day when I don’t walk, it takes me a good hour or more to feel fully lucid.  My body and mind are both dragging.  But when I walk, even if I’m still tired when I head out that door, I walk back through it alert and clear headed.  I may still even be tired if I didn’t sleep well the night before (which isn’t uncommon, as I struggle with insomnia frequently), but at least the fog is cleared from my brain.

And now that I have come down from today’s high, it’s time to go make some breakfast.  Carmelized onion omelet, here I come!

2 responses »

  1. Thank you so much for that post! I am going to keep this and read it as a reminder of how wonderful being healthy and active really feels. 🙂 As of right now, just walking across my house makes me out of breath, but being 9 months pregnant, I think that’s normal!

    • You’re so welcome! And boy, do I remember feeling like you’re feeling right now. With Gus, I had some weird, unknown complication for pretty much the entire last trimester where I literally couldn’t walk more than the length of my house. Even going to Target and making a slooooow circuit would get my heart rate up to like 150BPM and I’d get lightheaded and my face and hands would tingle. They put me in the hospital over a weekend, made me do a holter monitory for a day, and they could never identify anything actually wrong. But literally almost the second he was born, it was all gone.

      Anyway, get lots of rest, and I hope you’ll be holding your sweet baby very soon! ❤

Leave a Reply

