Floopsie grilled cheese

Standard

I recently tried a new recipe for a bread substitute known as “floopsie bread.”  I was really in the mood for Cheddar Bay biscuits (you know, those delectable cheesy, garlicky things from Red Lobster), so I decided to adapt the recipe by omitting the sweetener, adding in about 1 Tbsp garlic powder (I just dumped a bunch in without measuring – I love garlic!) and about 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese.

While the texture is nothing like the Red Lobster biscuits (it’s more similar to corn bread), the flavor was delicious!  It bakes up very flat, and so when I cut a big square out, I thought, “This looks like sandwich bread.”  And then I had a brilliant idea and decided to try making something else I’ve been missing – a grilled cheese!  I put a slice of American cheese between two slices of floopsie and then grilled in a medium-hot pan for about 2-3 minutes on each side.

Although no one would mistake this for an authentic grilled cheese (floopsie bread doesn’t toast like regular bread), it was still very, very yummy!  Also, I’m thinking it would be absolutely divine as a panini of sorts, with meat and cheese on the inside.  Of course, using floopsie bread that already had cheese in it was probably a bit of overkill, but then again, I’m also in the “there is no such thing as too much cheese” camp, so I didn’t mind at all. 😉  But you could easily skip the cheese if you wanted to use this for grilled cheeses or paninis.

If you try a floopsie grilled cheese or panini, be sure to have a fork handy!  It’s a bit greasy, plus I think it might break if you picked it up.  But it’s so delicious that you won’t care in the least.

Leave a Reply

