Holy distorted body image, Batman!

Standard

I was scrolling through my Facebook news feed and saw a link from the HuffPo to this article:

Susanne Eman, Plus-Size Model, Trying To Become The Biggest Woman Ever

When I clicked on it, before I read anything, I looked at the pictures.  When I saw the one on the bottom of the page, I thought to myself, “She must have a long way to go to be the world’s biggest woman, because she is only about the size I was when I started this diet.”

And then I read the article and discovered that she is 728 lbs.!

Boy, was that a wake up call. The fact that I thought a woman who was 728 lbs. looked like I did when I was less than half that weight was really eye opening.  It was a concrete example of just how exaggerated my self perception is.

The good news is that I’m actually feeling much better about myself these days (losing 50 lbs. will do that), and I don’t despair every time I look in the mirror.  I suspect my image of myself is still bigger than it really is, but it also feels like my self image is losing weight faster than my body, so to speak. 😉  I think I’m getting closer to a realistic perception, and that’s a victory in itself.

 

3 responses »

  1. I think we need to see a picture, perhaps on Facebook, of you from more than the neck up. In fact, I’ll bet if you post an old one and a current one, you’d be able to see more for yourself just how different you really do look! But we’re all curious to see how fabulous you’re looking these days! Congrats again on the milestone! 🙂 ~Cheryl

  2. While you are probably right, I do not have ONE picture of myself from more than the chest up in the last year and a half. I searched, and there are none! Well, that’s not quite true. I have one from the zoo the day after Christmas, but the kids are clustered in front of me and I’m wearing a bulky coat, so you can’t really see anything. It’s hard to have before and after pics when you never let anyone take pics of you “before,” LOL.

    I will say this – I Googled that woman and found more pictures of her, and she looked MUCH bigger when you can see from the waist down. I definitely NEVER thought I looked like that. But from the chest up, which is what the other pictures in that original article showed, that is about how I pictured myself.

  3. I think I live in a deluded world where I look in the mirror (with my eyes closed) and see myself still in a size 12…blinders CAN be wonderful things! But then I realize all the things I prohibit myself from because of my weigjt, and I realize I am far, far from that size 12. Keep working on your self image, Mich, because you ARE a beautiful person, inside and out, and you are making a tremendous life style change, not only for yourself, but for you children. “If I had my life to live over again…” – I wish that you will never have to say that to yourself! I know you can reach your goal, one day at a time, one milestone at a time. Those milestones are your reward for doing something truly GOOD for yourself. Be very, very proud of that!!!

Leave a Reply

