Chicken livers with garlic and balsamic vinegar

Standard

If you’re a liver hater, you can just skip right on past this recipe – livers seem to be one of those culinary dishes that is very black or white: either you love ’em or you hate ’em.  And if you’re in the latter category, ain’t nothing I can say that will change your mind!  🙂

But if, like me, you appreciate the simple, delicious pleasure of chicken livers, here’s an equally simple and delicious recipe for making them.

Chicken Livers with Garlic and Balsamic Vinegar
(net carbs: 17g for the whole recipe)

  • 1 lb chicken livers, drained
  • 1/4 cup of butter (1/2 stick)
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic (from a jar is fine)
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Heat butter and garlic in a pan over medium heat (I had mine set to a 6) for 3 or 4 minutes until good and hot and the butter is just barely starting to brown.  Stir well and add drained livers.  Cook 3 minutes and flip.  Cook 3 more minutes, then add the balsamic vinegar and stir for 30-60 seconds.  Serve in bowls, pouring a bit of the sauce from the pan over them.

My mom used to dredge them in a little flour and fry them up, and although I missed that crunchy coating a little bit, these were still absolutely delicious.  Plus, no trying to dredge and handle those slippery little livers!  This recipe comes together so quickly that’s it’s perfect for a busy week night.

This dish had just a hint of flavor from the balsamic.  You could add a bit more if you want that to be more distinct, but I actually liked it better with the very subtle sweetness.  For me, too much vinegar would overpower the delicious flavor of the livers themselves.

Oh, and my kids loved the pan sauce.  They dipped bread in it!

4 responses »

  1. I usually add a little olive oil as well, and some kosher salt. I also don’t drain mine, as it adds a little extra sauce.

    • Good to know! When you had emailed me about it (it was over 2 years ago, LOL – I just happened to dig it up this weekend), you’d mentioned the butter, garlic and balsamic, but you didn’t have a specific recipe. So I figured it’s hard to mess up chicken livers and just kind of tossed it all together. 😉 I drained them just b/c I didn’t know if that would lead to a lot of splattering. I’ll try your modifications next time!

    • Me, too. I estimate amounts so I can post recipes, and sometimes if something we’re eating is somewhat carby, I’ll measure to make sure I don’t get more than we should have. But mostly, I eyeball everything and season as I go. 😉

Leave a Reply

