I guess this is good news?

Standard

A nurse called from my doctor’s office today, and my A1C was actually excellent.  On the one hand, I’m thrilled by this news.  As I said earlier, I was worried I might actually have become diabetic, rather than just insulin resistant (IR), which is essentially pre-diabetic.  An A1C of over 7 is considered diabetic, and 6.5 to 7 (or sometimes 6 to 7) is considered prediabetic.  4.5 to 6 is normal.  I was a 4.8!  And since the test measures my average blood sugar for the last 3 months, and I’d only been dieting for about 6 weeks, that wouldn’t have affected the result.

But the fact remains: I’m not losing weight like I have in the past.  If insulin isn’t causing me to hold onto my weight, what the heck is?  Unfortunately, my doctor did not run a thyroid test with the other blood work, so it’s possible that my thyroid is the cause.  Thyroid issues run in my family, although I’ve always tested well in the past.  (However, I’ve also read that the current test is notoriously inaccurate.)

So unfortunately, I’m probably going to have to go back to the doctor to try to figure out what the next step should be, medically – or if there is one at all other than trudging along on my own.  That’s mostly unfortunate b/c it means another $25 copay.  But I guess if that’s what I need to do to get on track, that’s what I need to do.

I am really scratching my head, though, b/c I was SURE my insulin was the culprit.  Since additional weight usually intensifies insulin resistance and I was at my highest weight ever, it made logical sense.  I’m just trying to be happy I’m actually healthier than I thought…

5 responses »

  1. But the A1C wouldn’t indicate if your insulin was off, right? My sugar has always tested in the perfect range, even the time my imsulin measured at 157 (on that test should have been under 13).

    Definitely check thyroid. I have family history also. I have checked since high school. Also get copies of old tests. If you bounce back and forth from borderline high to borderline high, that can indicate a problem also. I ended up having half removed in 1997, wish I would have had them take the whole thing.

    Good luck, hopefully you can get it figured out without too much testing & $$$!

    • Well, according to her, the A1C would indicate if insulin was off, and that makes sense to me, at least based on what I’ve seen from the 3-hour tests I’ve done. During those tests, my blood sugar was high-ish during the middle readings b/c my body wasn’t yet using the insulin it was making, so it kept making more. Then in the third one, my blood sugar would crash when the insulin caught up. But those high readings would make the blood sugar average higher, which is why 6-7 is usually consider pre-diabetic/IR.

      What’s actually confounding me now, though, is that when I looked for an interpretation of test results, I discovered that a 4.8 would mean my AVERAGE blood sugar is actually less than 80. That’s just crazy to me. It’s too low to seem realistic. So I wonder if there is any chance there was something wrong with the test. 4.5-6 is considered normal.

      *pause*

      Ironically, my phone just rang, and the nurse called back. I asked her about what I just wrote, and she said that their lab lists a 4.8 as an average of 94, and that seems more realistic. (The site I was looking at did say values can vary at different labs.) It still seems ODD given my history, but if my average was less than 80, I think I’d be walking around feeling hypoglycemic most of the time. 94 would at least feel normal.

      Anyway, they are going to run the thyroid, and I shouldn’t need to come in for that. Apparently, they keep the blood sample for 7 days and can run more tests within that time. So we’ll see what comes of that…

      • My sugar even during my 3 hour insulin test always stayed in the normal area. The only thing out of range was the insulin. Sugar was normal, insulin was high, drank super sugary crap, sugar went up but normal and insulin went way high, then sugar was normal and insulin came down but was still high.

        I am glad that yours was an improvement for you though!

  2. Hmmmm. I’ve heard the same thing about thyroid tests… That they all declare you to be fine. It runs in my family too. I hesitate to hit up the dr because A, i don’t like drs. B, i dont like needles (and why am i bloodletting for a probable “pass” anyhow?? And C) i read that iodine is a natural thyroid regulator. So i think im going to look into that s’more.

    But yes, being healthy is a good thing!!

    • There IS a thyroid test that is supposed to be more accurate. I can’t remember the name of it, but I’m going to go digging for it anyway, b/c I may request it later. If I find it, I’ll pass it on to you!

Leave a Reply

