Low carb review: 34 Degrees Whole Grain Crispbread

Standard

I stumbled on 34 Degrees Whole Grain Crispbreads while at Costco recently.  They were sampling some sort of dip spread on these paper-thin crackers, and I decided to give one a try.  Based on how thin they were, I figured there couldn’t be enough carb in one cracker to bother with.

I’m so glad I did, b/c they are absolutely one of my favorite low carb finds so far!  They are so incredibly crispy, and they really fit the bill when you are craving some crackers.  They actually don’t have much flavor on their own (both taste and consistency remind me a bit of Communion hosts!), but they make a great vehicle for a wide variety of toppings and give you a satisfying crunch.   And they’re remarkably healthy, made from only 3 ingredients and baked to achieve their remarkable crispiness.

Best of all, my instinct was right: at only 6 grams of carb per 9 crackers, they truly are low carb!  In most cases, 1 or 2 more than satisfies my cravings for a little something crunchy or crispy (but not greasy, the way pan-fried cheese can be), but even if I have a full serving (which I have when we’ve eaten a hearty dip for a meal), 6g generally fits pretty easily into my day.

In addition to eating them with dip, my other favorite way to have these delightful little crackers is spread with a bit of peanut butter.  In fact, if you make a sandwich of two crackers and peanut butter, it feels a bit like eating a sandwich cookie!  Actually, it’s really reminiscent of the peanut butter and crackers sandwiches you can often get out of vending machines, only so much healthier when made with these crackers and natural peanut butter.

Next time I’m at Costco, I plan to stock up on these babies!  They seem like the kind of item they might only carry periodically, and I can tell these are going to be a staple of my low-carb pantry.

Leave a Reply

