Weekly weigh in, Feb. 28

Standard

I weighed myself as soon as I woke up this morning, and I’m just now posting this at 3:00, so you can probably guess why: the news isn’t good.  First, here’s the actual stats:

  • Weight Lost, Current Week: 0.4 lbs gained
  • Weight Lost, To Date: 19.4 lbs
  • Weeks on Diet: 5

To say I’m discouraged would be an understatement.  At only 5 weeks in, this seems way too early for a plateau.  And I’m working SO hard!  I admit that I had one small “splurge” last week (a beer when I met a friend for a gab session), but that was on Tues, and even if you’re looking at this from the strictest Atkins perspective, which is that I might have knocked myself out of ketosis, I would have been back IN it easily by now.  There’s no reason me not to have at least lost a pound.

Honestly, I’ve been on the verge of tears all day.  Up until now, I’ve considered myself in a sort of induction phase (even though we’re not really following Atkins) and was able to take comfort in the fact that the way I’m eating was just short term.  Eventually, I’d be able to add back in a little bit of bread and some milk with dinner – two things I’m really missing.  But if I’m already having weeks where I don’t lose any weight at all, where the heck am I supposed to go from here?

Today, I’m feeling very, very discouraged.

5 responses »

  1. Pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start thinking of additional ways to kickstart your loses…maybe find a nice walking path that isn’t heavily used so you can go at your own pace and not worry about people “watching” you (I know you’re like your mom, and you can’t stand the thought of others gawking at you – which they probably aren’t anyhow, but you manage to make yourself feel that way!)…get outside and get some fresh air – Spring will soon be here and I think you will be amazed at how much “fresh air” can bring you to a sense of well-being, or at least “better being”!! Play with the kids in the backyard, kicking a ball around, or a little game of tag…I think yoiu’ll be amazed at what some activity can do to step up your weight loss…I know you can do this, Michelle – the key is not to get discouraged when you don’t see those numbers falling as rapidly as you think they should!!!!

    • I do keep meaning to take Gus out on walks when the mornings are so beautiful, but then somehow, the morning always seems to slip away from me. And now next week, it’s going to be chilly again. But once the nice weather comes back, I’m thinking of giving that a try.

  2. It’s been almost a week. No Michelle. Hmmmm, I hope you didn’t let this little set back get the best of you. You are better and stronger than you know. Listen to your mom!

    • No, I haven’t given up. Still plugging away. But the scale continues to be very discouraging, and I think tomorrow morning I will actually be slightly up from last week. I told Nate that I’m giving low carbing until the end of the month (March), and if things haven’t leveled out and the scale isn’t behaving better, I think I’m going to look into some other eating plan. By then, it will have been over 2 months since we started, so I feel like I will have given it a fair shot. Other than the first two weeks, this go ’round has just been totally different than any other time in the past, and unfortunately not in a good way. 😦

  3. I know it can be discouraging, but try to look at the big picture. 19 pounds over 6 weeks is still an average of more than 3 pounds a week!

Leave a Reply

