Starting a series: daily affirmations

Standard

One of the main goals of this blog is for me to learn to stop judging myself for whatever number is on the scale.  So far, I’ve talked quite a bit about the negative voice in my head that thinks all the worst things about myself.

But silencing that voice is not enough; something needs to fill the void.  I need to learn to replace the negative self talk with healthier thoughts.

So to that end, I’m introducing a new daily feature.  (That sounds mighty important, but I can’t think of a better term for it!)  Each day, I’m going to post one good thought about myself to focus on for that day.   It might be something I like about myself, something I’m proud about, or simply an uplifting thought.  I will try to post one every day, although I’m sure I’ll probably miss them occasionally.

And because another big part of the reason I started this blog was to walk this journey with others who struggle with the same issues, I’d like to invite readers to join in by posting their own affirmations in the comments.  Remember, you can post anonymously if that makes you more comfortable.

So for today, this is my affirmation:

Yesterday, I made a commitment to take better care of myself with some basic, daily tasks.  Today, I followed through on that commitment, even though I wasn’t feeling well this morning.  It’s just one day, but a lifetime is composed of individual days.

Please share your affirmation!

 

Leave a Reply

