Low carb review: Foster Farms Tequila Lime wings and Hot & Spicy wings

Standard

Big bags of both these varieties are available in the frozen section of  the Costco we shop at.  I originally bought the Hot & Spicy variety a few weeks ago, and as I was checking out, the checker raved to me about how good the Tequila Lime ones are (no link for these on the site – I hope that means they are new, not about to be discontinued!).  The flavor combo didn’t sound that appealing to me, but since I have a low threshhold for spice and the checker said they were so good, the next time I was at Costco, I decided to pick some up.

Boy, am I glad I did!

Both varieties have a very low carb count – only 1 carb per 3 wings – so they make a nice lazy night entree.  They also cook up nice and crispy in the oven, especially the Tequila Lime variety.

Nate really likes the Hot & Spicy variety, although they are a bit much for me.  Like I said, I have a low spice tolerance.  I’ll eat them, but they make my lips burn.  They’re probably about the equivalent of a medium at most wing places.

But the Tequila Lime are my far and away my favorite.  The seasoning is actually quite subtle.  Really, these are just delicious wings, and I’ve always been a fan of good wings, perfectly plain.

Beyond the excellent flavor, the best part about these wings is that they are roasted (not deep fried) and turn out really crispy when you cook them in the oven.  I have the best results when I use the longest cooking time of 33 minutes, and I make sure to stick them in straight from the freezer.  I feel like letting frozen foods defrost a bit before cooking tends to make them soggier, although I have no scientific evidence to prove that point.  All I know is that I get excellent, crispy wings every time when I don’t take them out of the freezer until the oven is preheated.

Hint: definitely follow the directions and line your pan with foil and spray with nonstick spray, but they’ll still stick.  However, if you wait about 5 minutes after you take them out of the oven (hard, with the tempting aroma wafting through the house), you’ll a) continue to have fingerprints (a plus or a minus, depending on your penchant for crime), and b) be able to gently remove them from the foil without having a bunch of meat and skin stick to it.

Leave a Reply

