Weekly weigh in, Feb. 15th

Standard

In the beginning, I weighed daily.  I always do this; it’s fun to see the scale moving rapidly.  But once that weight loss inevitably slows down, I usually switch to weekly, which is what I’m doing now, starting yesterday.  Mondays will be my weigh-in day, and although this post will reflect the weight on my scale yesterday, I just thought it was funny to date it Feb. 14th when I knew the time stamp would say Feb. 15th. 🙂

Note: I’m not really comfortable sharing my actual weight publicly.  I’m just too embarrassed by it. 😦  Maybe at some point – when that number is a far distant sight in the rearview of my memory – I’ll tell you what that number was.  But for the time being, I’m just going to post how much weight I lose each week, without posting my actual weight.  I’ll also include a total to date.

So with no further ado…

  • Weight Lost, Current Week: 4 lbs
  • Weight Lost, To Date: 15.4 lbs
  • Weeks on Diet: 3*

The diet is actually treating me a little weird this time around.  In the past, I’ve always lost weight consistently and rapidly for 2-3 weeks, and after that, I lost it slowly but still pretty consistently.  But this time, I lost quickly for about a week, then I was stuck (bouncing around up and down within the same pound) for about a week and a half, then I lost rapidly for a few days, and then I stalled again and actually bounced back up 2 lbs between Sat and yesterday.

I have no idea what to make of this.  When I first saw the gain on Sun, I thought maybe it was because I ate late at night on Sat.  (Hot wings were calling my name!)  So Sun, I made sure not to eat after dinner except for a very small amount of ricotta cheese, which I have many evenings as a snack.  But Mon morning, I was up another lb!

However, this is an excellent example of why I shouldn’t weigh daily.  I suspect that by next Mon, it will have all come out in the wash and I’ll be down another pound or two.  At least I hope so!  Low carbing has always been my most reliable way to lose weight, so I’m not sure what I’ll do if it’s suddenly stopped working for me.

That said, since I have lost 15.4 lbs in 3.5 weeks (and it was 17.6 a couple of days ago), I’m certainly not writing it off as a failure yet!  It may just be that at my older age and with my body as out of whack as it’s ever been, that the weight is going to be a bit more stubborn than it was when I was in my early twenties and not so outrageously unhealthy.

* I actually started on Thursday, Jan. 20, 2011, but I had to immediately turn around and blow it when I was stuck in a hotel over the weekend.  Although I still managed to eat fairly well and did maintain some weight loss over that weekend, since I prefer to weigh-in on Mondays, it’s easier just to count from Monday the 24th as the official start.  However, the total weight loss reflects the weight I started at on the 20th.

2 responses »

  1. wow, michelle, you are doing GREAT – over 15 pounds in under a month is impressive!! I can’t tell you how proud I am that you’ve taken this step…only good can follow! Love you –

  2. I guess it just feels slow b/c I’ve lost 16 lbs in 2 weeks before. This weird stalling bums me out. But like I said, it’s probably just a product of age and of my hormones being screwier than ever. (Not that I have proof of the latter, but given that increased weight tends to make those hormone problems worse and I’m at my highest weight ever, it’s a logical assumption.) I know I should be thrilled with 15 lbs, and mostly, I am. I figure I’ve got about 45 weeks left, and if I can manage 2 pounds per week, I’ll be in a very good place by the end of the year. If I can even manage 1 lb per week, I won’t be doing too bad. 15 is a nice jump start.

Leave a Reply

