Easy fried eggs – no flipping involved!

Standard

I’ve always loved fried eggs, but until a few years ago, they were only a restaurant (or visiting mom’s house) treat.  The problem?  I like my eggs over easy, but I almost always failed at flipping them without breaking the yolk.  And if the yolk got hard, I just didn’t want it at all.  So it seemed stupid to make them when I had only about a 1 in 4 chance of actually getting to eat them.

And then I discovered the simplicity of steaming fried eggs.  I was pregnant with Gus when I read about this method, and once I discovered how easy it was, I think I had 2 fried eggs for breakfast every day for the rest of my pregnancy.  Here’s how it goes.

Easy Fried Eggs
(net carbs: 1g/egg)

  • Melt about 1-2 tsp butter in a small pan over medium.  I like to actually let it heat for 5 or 6 min until it starts to brown lightly.  It’ll make your eggs look like they just came off the griddle at the best greasy spoon diner, and the browned butter adds a nice touch to the overall flavor.
  • Crack your egg/s into the pan and let cook until the whites set.  This will happen pretty fast if you browned the butter – 20 to 30 seconds, I’d guess.
  • Pour about 1/2 tsp of water into a spoon.  (I don’t ever measure.  I just turn the faucet on to a very low stream and put some water in the bowl of a regular-sized spoon.)  Dump the spoon down the edge of the pan so that it immediately starts to steam and sizzle.
  • Cover the pan and cook about 85 seconds for over easy.  (This works based on my stove’s heat and when I add the water.  It may take a bit of experimentation for you to find the amount of time for you to get your yolks exactly the way you want them.)
  • Loosen edges from the pan with a fork if necessary and slide onto a plate.

It’s so darn easy!  The steam created by the water cooks the tops so that you don’t have to flip them.  Perfect eggs every time!

2 responses »

  1. Holy cow!! I have always had the same problem with my eggs. I can’t flip them without breaking the yolk and I love the creamy yolk. This is an awesome suggestion. Buh-bye eggbeaters and soft-boiled eggs. I’m gonna try this out this weekend.
    BTW…do you think this type of technique would work with omelettes? I am terrible at flipping them, too.

    • I’m glad to hear I am not the only one who is flip impaired! LOL. But funny you should ask about omelettes, b/c YES, it does work! And I just learned it in the last week. I’ve never been any good at the “lift the edge and let the uncooked egg run under” part. But last week I discovered I could use the water trick to fix that problem. What I do now is lift the egg a couple of times until I can’t get anymore to run under. Then I add the water, cover, and cook for about 30 more seconds. That’s usually enough to do it, but if it’s not quite done, I’ll re-cover for another 20 seconds or so. When the egg is cooked through, I add my fillings to just one half of the omelette, fold the other half over it with a spatula, and use the spatula to press down on it all until the cheese melts enough to make it stick together. At that point, I’ll often throw the cover back on (no need for water) to help the cheese melt through, but that might be b/c I like a lot of cheese. 😉

Leave a Reply

