Chicken and mushroom alfredo bake

Standard

I have a recipes label in my Gmail where I file away all interesting sounding recipes, and over the years, it’s gotten quite large.  There are currently 400+ recipes in it.  Recently, I thought I should go back to the very beginning and look for something new to try.  I found a recipe my mom sent me that basically involved whipping up 3/4 of a batch of my favorite artichoke dip, and then while it was still raw, spreading it over some boneless, skinless chicken thighs and baking.  However, it turns out artichokes are a fairly high carb veggie, so I decided to sub mushrooms for the artichokes.

The final result wasn’t quite what I had expected – artichoke dip is thick and scoopable, but either the liquid from the mushrooms or the liquid from the chicken ended up thinning this out to more of a creamy sauce consistency – but it was absolutely divine.  We’ve made this every week since we discovered it.

Chicken and Mushroom Alfredo Bake
(net carbs: 15 g for whole recipe)

  • 1-2 Tbsp butter
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed (yep, 5!  scale back if you don’t have an all-consuming love affair with garlic)
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup parmesan
  • 1 pkg boneless skinless chicken thighs or breasts (I used thighs)

Melt the butter over medium heat for about 5-6 min until it starts to brown lightly.  Add the garlic and stir it around for 1-2 minutes.  (Try not to pass out from being overwhelmed by the wonderful smells in your kitchen.)  Add mushrooms and cook until they release their juices – 7 to 10 min.  Meanwhile, mix together the mayo, sour cream, and parm.  When mushrooms are done, empty pan into the mayo bowl and mix all well.

Lay out your chicken in a 9×9 or 8×8 square pan.  Spread the mushroom/mayo mix evenly over the top.  Bake at 375 for 45 min or until chicken is cooked through.

Leave a Reply

